Wednesday, November 2nd, 2016

Artists Under the Dome Event Schedule

Free and Open to the Public

9:30am to 9:50am Artists were welcomed to the Great Hall and received their welcome packets

9:55am Welcome by the Massachusetts Artists Leaders Coalition (MALC) and the Massachusetts Cultural Council (MCC) (Great Hall)

Kathleen Bitetti -Visual Artist & Co-Founder of MALC

Cindy Cuba Clements- Visual Artist & MCC Board Member (Chair of MCC's Grants Committee)

10:05am Welcome and Opening Remarks by Elected Officials & Legislators (Great Hall)

State Treasurer Deborah B. Goldberg

Nam Pham- Assistant Secretary of Business Development & International Trade at the Massachusetts Executive Office of Housing & Economic Development

State Representative Smitty Pignatelli- House Vice Chair of the Joint Committtee on Tourism, Arts & Cultural Development & Co-Chair of the Cultural Caucus

10:20am Unveiling of MALC's annual Champions of Artists Award Ceremony (Great Hall)

The two awardees for 2016 are: Senator Daniel Wolf (Senate President Rosenberg accepted the award on his behalf) and State Representative Gloria Fox.

10:30am Group Photo (Grand Staircase)

11:00 - 12:00 am - Artists visiedt their Senator's and Representative's Offices

12:00 to 1:00pm- Brown Bag Lunch and Celebration of the 10th Anniversary of the Annual Artists Under the Dome Event (Great Hall)

1:00-2:00pm -Afternoon panel unveiled MALC's labor policy recommendations for the Commonwealth. (Great Hall)


David Slattery- Deputy Director of the Massachusetts Cultural Council

Helena Fruscio-Deputy Assistant Secretary of Innovation, Entrepreneurship and Technology at Commonwealth of Massachusetts & Industry Director for the Creative Economy

MALC Steering Committee Members: Gloretta Baynes (Visual Artist), Pat Hollenbeck (Musician & President of Boston Musicians' Association), Chuck Slavin (Union Member of SAG/AFTRA)

Moderated by Kathleen Bitetti (MALC) and Malia Lazu - Founder of the Epicenter Community